none
exchange 2003 exchange 2010 during migration if you install hub and cas can you still have exchange 2003 recieve and send mail

Question

• Hi expert..im kind of new to exchange 2010

im doing a migration of exchange 2003 to exchange 2010.

My question is Do i have to install the CAS and Hub together for my outlook 2010 clients to stay connected to my exchange 2003.

and if I do install the hub can exchange 2003 still handle mail flow from and to the internet...

currently we only accept mail from postini which does our virus and spam filtering.....

if I do not make any changes in DNS will anything change with the introduction of exchange 2010 hub and cas role.....

I attempted to just install the CAS server with the following dns entries.

legacy.domain.com---going to  FE exch03   .

mail.domain.com----going to exch2010 cas

autodiscover.com---going to exch201 cas

some reason all my outlook client could no longer connect to my exch03 server....

does this require the hub to be install as well..???

thanks in advance experts...

Thursday, March 29, 2012 3:54 PM

All replies

• Have you installed all the prerequisites?  If you have done that your users should be able to access both 2003 and 2010 which ever holds their mailbox.

Try below link for good info.

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd638130.aspx

Good luck!

John

John

Thursday, March 29, 2012 5:27 PM
  • yes i did all the prerequisites, preparead, exbpa, server 2008 prep...

when i install the CAS there was no error......owa was redirecting to legacy.domai.com

only when i enable the autodiscover.domain.com and mail.domain.com did my outlook2010 client freeze up..after a force close they could not connect to my exchange 2010 server??

should outlook be offline when these changes are made...do i have to manually configure outlook again??

thks

Thursday, March 29, 2012 6:31 PM
  • mogulsurf,