none
basic coding: connecting to exchange guide?

Question

•  

I am brand new to Exchange development.

I am looking for a very basic guide on how to connect to an Exchange 2003 and 2007 server, get a list of the servers and storage groups on it, and then get a list of the physical files on the disk that make up those storage groups

Any ideas?

Monday, July 28, 2008 12:34 AM

All replies

•  What do you want to write your code in eg VBScript, Powershell or C# there are a few options for doing this if you need to cross both versions then i would suggest you just look at using Straight ADSI (the System.Directoryservices) class in .NET. Because the information you mentioned is all stored in Active Directory you don't really need to use any of the Exchange API's but if you did want to use them you get the same information on Exchange 2007 using the Exchange Mangement Shell cmdlets such as Get-StorageGroup http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa998331(EXCHG.80).aspx this would only work on 2007 you would then need to use CDOEXM on Exchange 2003.

As far a guides go there's plenty of on the Internet about using ADSI to do various things just Google ADSI and Exchange. I would also suggest Robbie Allen's Active Directory Cookbook which has quite good coverage of using ADSI.

As a sample here's how you can show the Storage Groups on a server using ADSI in Powershell based on the netbios servername looks like (works on 2003 or 2007)

Code Snippet

$snServerName = "servername"
    $root = [ADSI]'LDAP://RootDSE'
    $cfConfigRootpath = "LDAP://" + $root.ConfigurationNamingContext.tostring()
    $configRoot = [ADSI]$cfConfigRootpath
    $searcher = new-object System.DirectoryServices.DirectorySearcher($configRoot)
    $searcher.Filter = '(&(objectCategory=msExchExchangeServer)(cn=' + $snServerName  + '))'
    $searchres = $searcher.FindOne()
    $snServerEntry = New-Object System.DirectoryServices.directoryentry
    $snServerEntry = $searchres.GetDirectoryEntry()