none
Can't get Outlook 2010 to connect to Exchange 2013

Question

• Hi all,

I am a complete Exchange NOOB, please excuse the basic nature of these questions.

I recently decided to try to take my organization down the Exchange Road and found the installation of Exchange 2013 to be remarkably pleasant and straightforward.

I got the server up and running (exchange1.org.mydomain.com), configured a Send Connector, and set up the a-records for the following:

• org.mydomain.com points to the IP of the Exchange 2013 installation
    • exchange1.org.mydomain.com points to the IP of the Exchange 2013 installation
    • autodiscover.org.mydomain.com points to the IP of the Exchange 2013 installation

I also set up an MX record which points to the host: org (where the current mailserver MX is just "@")

Port forwarding is configured for:

• 25, 110, 143, 443, 993, 995

from the dedicated static public IP to the IP of exchange1.org.mydomain.com

And, best of all, OWA works perfectly on send/receive for the few email addresses I have configured!

My problem is with the clients! I simply can't get Outlook 2010 so set-up at all and I can't get any other client (Thunderbird) to send with SMTP. I did tons of reading on the subject, but the only change I made to the Exchange configuration was: Set-RpcClientAccess -Server exchange1 EncryptionRequired $false

Anyone have an idea where I went wrong?

Saturday, February 09, 2013 3:52 PM

Answers

• Outlook 2010 has to connect to Exchange 2013 using Outlook Anywhere.

For SMTP sending to work, you must connect to port 587, the client submission port.  This can be changed, but it's something you have to think about and it isn't trivial.

Ed Crowley MVP "There are seldom good technological solutions to behavioral problems."

• Marked as answer by unsichtbarre Sunday, February 10, 2013 2:55 PM
    Saturday, February 09, 2013 4:57 PM
  • Solved!