none
External DNS question

Question

• Hi, i'm implementing an Exchange 2010 enviroment, and i have a question (maybe it's a idiotic one, but i'm new in the messaging business).

The current enviroment is set this way: 1 CAS/HUB, 1 Mailbox and 1 Edge Transport.

My client has a firewall and we'll use NAT redirection to configure the external access for Outlook Web and ActiveSync.

In the external DNS configuration i'll create an A record mail.domain.com and a MX record pointing to the A record, so my doubt is:  to which host i'll configure the NAT redirection? To the CAS/HUB server or the Edge Transport Server?

Friday, June 15, 2012 3:36 PM

Answers

• Because the Edge will receive the email from external senders then forward to the HUB. If you had no Edge then you would point the HUB Directly (If there's no firewall in front).

You don't have to set anything on the connector, it's not mandatory.

Sukh

Friday, June 15, 2012 6:20 PM
  • hi,

>>>My client has a firewall and we'll use NAT redirection to configure the external access for Outlook Web and ActiveSync.

If you want to configure the external access for OWA and activesync, you should point the record to your cas server. Because cas server will respond to the request for the client.

But according to your description,I think you should point it to your firewall server.  I guess that you environment is: internet->firewall->edge->cas/hub->mailbox server

hope can help you

thanks,

CastinLu

TechNet Community Support

Monday, June 18, 2012 4:55 AM
  •   Port reference Edge>HUB

Sukh

Tuesday, June 19, 2012 8:20 PM

All replies

• Hi

Your MX record should point to the Edge Transport server.

Cheers, Steve

Friday, June 15, 2012 3:41 PM
  • Hi

Your MX record should point to the Edge Transport server.

Cheers, Steve

Thanks Steve.

I thought that i had to point it to the CAS/HUB server.