none
Cannot open your default e-mail folders. You do not have permission to log on.

Question

• I'm very new to Exchange 2010 and am trying to figure out what is going one with on user.  When opening outlook he gets:

Cannot open your default e-mail folders.  You do not have permission to log on.

When I run:  Get-MailboxPermission -id dr** |FL

I get:

RunspaceId      : dfc24400-6382-4436-b977-c27dfe4858aa
    AccessRights    : {ReadPermission}
    Deny            : True
    InheritanceType : All
    User            : Everyone
    Identity        : domain.net/ITMgmt/Drd**
    IsInherited     : False
    IsValid         : True

RunspaceId      : dfc24400-6382-4436-b977-c27dfe4858aa
    AccessRights    : {FullAccess, ReadPermission}
    Deny            : True
    InheritanceType : All
    User            : domain\Domain Admins
    Identity        : domain.net/ITMgmt/Dr**
    IsInherited     : False
    IsValid         : True

<<More permissions below>>

When I run the same on my account, I do not get the Deny:True listings.

I've seen several sites that indicate changing the Deny:True to Deny:False, but I'm having issues finding the right script to use.

Thanks in advance,

Dave

Friday, November 02, 2012 7:35 PM

Answers

• In the end, I ended up exporting all mail to a PST file, disabling the users mailbox (which deletes the contents, creating a new mailbox and then waiting a bit for the user synch up.  I'm real happy that only one user had this issue.

Thanks for the assistance.

Wednesday, November 07, 2012 4:41 PM

All replies

• Can you provide more information.

Has the user ever been able to logon successfully before? 

Can the user login through OWA?

Is MAPI enabled for this user?

Friday, November 02, 2012 10:27 PM
  • Have you checked to see if autodiscover is working properly for the user?

Here are some commands you might want to run

Test-outlookwebservices -identity <user> (great for figuring out Autodiscover problems>