none
Outlook cannot send e-mail. Error: 530 Authentication Required

Question

• Hello everyone,

I'm new at this so I'm confused.  E-mails are sitting in my out box but I'm not getting any error messages.  When i trouble shoot e-mail settings, I get this error message: "Cannot send the message.  530 Authentication Required."   I would appreciate any and all help.

Saturday, March 17, 2007 1:35 PM

Answers

• I think the problem should get solved by going to your email account settings (Tools > Account Settings > More Settings), and checking the "My outgoing server (SMTP) requires authentication" option.

• Proposed as answer by Benhaha Wednesday, October 14, 2009 9:49 AM
    • Marked as answer by Mike CrowleyMVP Friday, April 29, 2011 1:37 AM
    Monday, August 27, 2007 7:06 AM

All replies

• Hi,

I am also eagerly expecting the reply for this issue. Could you please let me to know as soon as you get the reply?

Advance thanks

Chocks

Wednesday, May 30, 2007 11:46 PM
  • I have this error as well on both my Windows Mobile phone and MS Outlook 2007.

I have spent hours with my ISP / host and not identified any error. Also, Mozilla Thunderbird works fine and does not encounter the error when sending.

Thursday, June 07, 2007 4:09 PM
  • I started experiencing this problem recently when trying to forward or reply to certain emails.  guidance appreciated.

Rob
    Friday, June 08, 2007 7:41 PM
  • Did you ever get an answer to this problem?  I'm having the same trouble.

Monday, August 13, 2007 10:30 PM
  • How is outlook configured? MAPI, POP, IMAP.

best functionality is when outlook is using MAPI for communication to Exchange.

where are you trying to send mail, to internal people or to Internet?

I think you are using POP/IMAP configuration and then is SMTP used for sending mail. Exchange is default configured to require authentication when using SMTP.

Saturday, August 18, 2007 10:10 AM