none
how to remove medfos.b

Question

• One week ago MS Security Essential detected a vius (medfos.b).  Thankfully MS SE quarantined the virus so my pc is not effected (YET).  I'm not a novice but not a pro at programming either.  I've scoured the internet searching for solutions from MS and have tried every virus detector/removal app MS has.  I've run dozens of security scans without success.  The MS SE virus alert keeps popping up every 5 minutes.  I've uninstalled JAVA 7 completely for the last few days as many of the websites report this may be the culprit....with no success.  I am not running Google Chrome either as that was another suspected entry for the virus.  I've also run searches for any files that might be related to these programs and have deleted them....again with no success.  MS SE allows me to remove the virus once it has been detected but not the source of the infection (what keeps generating the medfos.b detection).

I am running Vista Home Edition on a 32-bit processor.  I use IE as my web browser and have never used Firefox or any other browser.

Again, I've had my share of experiene with viruses and usually have success removing them quickly using MS tools.  I'm very responsible about keeping Windows updated as well as my security software.  I regularly run scans often.  I haven't downloaded any third-party virus detection apps as I prefer to rely on MS products.

I would greatly appreciate any help you could provide.

Thank you.

Friday, October 05, 2012 1:15 AM

Answers

All replies

• Hi,

I suggest you check the following KB:

How to prevent and remove viruses and other malware

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/129972

In addition, here is an article about Medfos.B:

How to Manually Remove Trojan:JS/Medfos.B/ Tips for Trojan Virus Removal

http://www.zimbio.com/Latest+Computer+Threats/articles/s8tDtfARIYM/How+Manually+Remove+Trojan+JS+Medfos+B+Tips