none
GPO: TO Show Favorites toolbar

Question

• By default IE 9 doesnt show favorites bar. You need to go to view to to display it. Is there any GPO to force it show the favorites bar by default?
    Monday, May 09, 2011 1:21 PM

Answers

• Hi,

EDIT: Be careful when altering settings in the registry, as changed the wrong values will cripple your Windows Operating System. Please do NOT try this method if you're not comfortable changing those settings and always take a backup of your registry first.

One method that might work is to set the correct Registry value through a GPO or startup script. The following should do the trick :

Go to

• HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\MINIE

and set

• LinksBandEnabled to 1(or 0 to disable of course)

if you wish to show the Favorites Bar by default

Let me know if this works for you

Wannes
    This information is provided "as is" without any express or implied warranty. I'm just a tech who wants to help.
    • Edited by Wannes V Monday, May 09, 2011 5:50 PM Added registry edit disclaimer
    • Proposed as answer by Wannes V Tuesday, May 10, 2011 3:50 PM
    • Marked as answer by Miya YaoModerator Monday, May 16, 2011 10:02 AM
    Monday, May 09, 2011 5:24 PM

All replies

• Hi,

EDIT: Be careful when altering settings in the registry, as changed the wrong values will cripple your Windows Operating System. Please do NOT try this method if you're not comfortable changing those settings and always take a backup of your registry first.

One method that might work is to set the correct Registry value through a GPO or startup script. The following should do the trick :

Go to

• HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\MINIE

and set

• LinksBandEnabled to 1(or 0 to disable of course)

if you wish to show the Favorites Bar by default

Let me know if this works for you

Wannes
    This information is provided "as is" without any express or implied warranty. I'm just a tech who wants to help.