none
Removing Information from LYNC 2010

Question

• Sorry if this is a duplicate question, I am new to LYNC and I am still working around the technical jargon and all the features.  Any help is apperciated.

I need to have the ability to remove all references to data from LYNC, a simple example of this is if a discussion happens between 2 individuals or if a discusssion happens in a group setting over a chat room, I may need to delete specific messages that were sent.  So for an example, 

Lets say that there is a discussion between a Sales Person, and a IT person.  The IT person was working to quickly and accentently pasted a password in the IM. (This is just an example, I apologize if this is not a very good one.  The end result is I need to have data removed from everywhere.) 

As I wander around the databases, I am finding portions of what I am needed to delete, but with a complete clean up I need to be 100% sure that all references to a certian message has been removed.  As of today, not all the features of LYNC are enabled, but it looks as if the product is going to get a full deployment. 

A big open question that I have right now is references to communcation is showing up in the Outlook install of each of the parties in the discussion.  Is there a way that I can clean this information?  Is there good references to where or how I can complete these actions? 

Monday, January 30, 2012 5:05 PM

Answers

• Hi,Chirs,

"Chat Room" is a dedicated feature of Group Chat server in Lync,so I suppose your orginization probably deployed Lync Group Chat server and your question is removing the specific chat history from Chat Room on Group Chat server.