none
what's next after FE... Edge or ...?

Question

• Dear friends..

first of all i am sorry as i am new to this.. and i am learning myself in a lab environment .. so please excuse me for my long and may be stupid questions ...!!!

it all started here... http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/ocsplanningdeployment/thread/a17c338e-ec5c-4b07-ab86-7b1749ebe19c/ when a forum member named madhushka .. helped me loads to setup my FE .. i am able to do internal IM... but now i am bit confused on my next step .. as whats next..

how can i do external IM... like how those users will connect... i learnt there is a role called EDGE .. which need two LAN cards .. most important public CA certificate ... and so on .. and i thnk this can help me in public IP .. but i am still not very sure on the steps .. like how to move in stepped manner.. any help on this .. is this right way or do i need to move to another thing first.. plz guide..

secondly my primary requirement is still the same which started with my first post.. on lync forum .that i want to setup public webinar .. so for that what all i need.. how many servers.. what roles .. any guide or link which can guide me on this ... again if possible in stepped manner.. plz.

was reading about edge and got few questions if someone can help me clearing these...

1. What kind of certificate do i need... wild card.. ? which server will generate the CSR...? Edge or FE or other.

2. then the same certificate would be used on all machines... to request and assign ... not sure plz advise..

3. Do i need only one certificate ..i thnk if i can go with wildcard then yes.... correct me if i am wrong.

4. for webinar & web-confrencing .. what do i need... hardware..

5. Lync Im client is paid ...? it gives a trial version .. not available on SPLA partner web also .. is it included in Lync server download package. or need to be purchased extra.