none
Lync Errors - Schannel 36888 - Front End Service stops randomly

Question

• Hi,

I have been running Lync 2010 in a standard setup for a good six months now.

about a month ago, issues started occuring with the front end service.

the service will stop, without any errors in the event log suggesting as to why. the only clues i am getting are a lot of schannel errors in the system log, but after doing some research i cannot find a solution.

I have seen other people fix these issues by changing records in DNS, but i have got this working before, and nothing has been changed.
    when the service is running, i have internal and external connectivity, as well as video, desktop sharing etc, so I cannot see anything wrong with the setup.

my gut feeling is that this is ANOTHER bug......

can someone please give me some advice, before i ring msft complaining about their awful UC system.

• Changed type gaz-mon Tuesday, June 07, 2011 3:42 PM
    • Changed type gaz-mon Tuesday, June 07, 2011 3:42 PM
    Tuesday, June 07, 2011 2:20 PM

Answers

• You can't have front end, mediation and edge on the same box, you can have front end and mediation together, definately not edge!

Mark King | MVP: Lync Server | MCTS:UC Voice | MCITP x3 :Lync, Enterprise Messaging 2010, EA | MCSE: Messaging | blog.unplugthepbx.com
    Tuesday, June 07, 2011 3:19 PM
  • You can say that, but it has been working happily.

When the front end service is running, the system works fine.

I would appreciate some assistance rather than just telling me the usual ridiculous microsoft implementation requirements.
    I installed OCS 2007 R2 before, and I had four servers. simply ridiculous for whats meant to be a phone / im system for an SME, dont you think.

If this is the way it is, then i will just remove the edge role and keep it internal.

• Marked as answer by gaz-mon Tuesday, June 07, 2011 3:41 PM
    • Marked as answer by gaz-mon Tuesday, June 07, 2011 4:21 PM
    Tuesday, June 07, 2011 3:29 PM