none
Remove DirSync

    Question

  • Hello,
     
    When I finish migrating all my users to Exchange Online and want to end the coexistence, would I still need the Directory Synchronization to run?
    Can I remove it, or it should keep running even after the migration, in order to replicate new and modified users to Exchange Online?

    Thanks
    Thursday, February 12, 2009 7:05 PM

Answers

  • You can chose either route.  If you disable DirSync then clearly you'd have to use the Administraiton Center to modify/add/delete all online accounts, where as leaving DirSync running allows you to centralize the management of your user accounts to your on-premise AD forest/domain.  If you already have it running I'd recommended leaving it in place.
    Jeff Schertz, PointBridge | MVP | MCITP: Enterprise Messaging | MCTS: OCS
    • Marked as answer by Eloy_lb Thursday, February 19, 2009 4:20 PM
    Thursday, February 19, 2009 5:06 AM

All replies

  • You can chose either route.  If you disable DirSync then clearly you'd have to use the Administraiton Center to modify/add/delete all online accounts, where as leaving DirSync running allows you to centralize the management of your user accounts to your on-premise AD forest/domain.  If you already have it running I'd recommended leaving it in place.
    Jeff Schertz, PointBridge | MVP | MCITP: Enterprise Messaging | MCTS: OCS
    • Marked as answer by Eloy_lb Thursday, February 19, 2009 4:20 PM
    Thursday, February 19, 2009 5:06 AM
  • Thanks for your answer.
    Thursday, February 19, 2009 4:19 PM