none
SharePoint Designer 2007 on Windows 7; cannot open or edit .aspx pages

Question

• Hello all...I'm running SharePoint Designer 2007 on Windows 7 (also have Office 2010 and SharePoint Designer 2010 installed); I cannot open or edit .aspx pages.  If I open the client and navigate to the site/list, then try to open the .aspx page by double-clicking, it simply does nothing.  If I use the toolbar and click file/open and navigate to the page, it opens the list but not the page.  Oddly, when I right click on .aspx pages in Designer, it doesn't give any choice to open or edit (see below). 

It is NOT a permissions issue; I am a site collection admin, and I can get on a server (Windows Server 2003) that has designer and open these pages with no trouble (Designer runs horribly slow on the server so it's not a viable alternative).  Anyone seen this issue before?  The only other relevant piece of information is that I was having issues with SharePoint 2007 after installing office 2010 and reinstalling designer 2007, so I made the registry change described here:

http://chentiangemalc.wordpress.com/2011/03/22/cases-of-the-imncontrolobj-element-not-found-error-on-sharepoint-2007-in-ie9/

paul truland

Friday, March 09, 2012 2:44 PM

All replies

• This might be a silly question, but have you run Office Diagnostics?
    Friday, March 09, 2012 6:38 PM
  • I did run diagnostics, and I tried repairing the program; neither helped. 

paul truland

Friday, March 09, 2012 6:49 PM
  • Hi paul,

I tried to reproduce your issue, but the SharePoint .aspx page can be opened and edited from SharePoint Designer 2007 installed on my Windows 7 client (I intalled Office 2010 too).