none
Complex forms in SharePoint 2010 site

Question

• I have to develop a website in SharePoint 2010. The website will have many complex forms from multiple database tables. I am new to the sharepoint and don't know how to start it and which features will be used.

1- Should I first design my database in SQL Server or is there any option in the SharePoint for database design? 
    2- How to develop a form with SharePoint2010 which may update multiple tables or get record from multiple tables. It may have some dropdown fields also.
    3- How to authenticate the users with stored users in database tables.

Thanks for help.

Wednesday, April 25, 2012 3:22 PM

Answers

All replies

• usually, you don't need to design SQL server database table structure for SharePoint, SharePoint will handle database storage itself. Instead, you just plan for Lists and Content Types, concepts in SharePoint simliar to table in SQL server.

And once lists and content types a created, default forms come with them too, although you can customize forms with SharePoint designer or InfoPath.

If you already have existing SQL server tables in use and you cannot migrate them to SharePoint lists, you can consider external content type with BCS: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/magazine/ee819133.aspx

to authenticate with existing user database, you can create custom membership provider (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/6tc47t75.aspx) and configure SharePoint web application to use Form Based authentication; or create custom STS http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ff955607.aspx and configure SharePoint to trust it.
    Thursday, April 26, 2012 6:02 AM
  • Thanks for replying GuYuming. The website involves complex data forms where information is saved in steps. I don't know about the infoPath, can we design forms in Visual Studio? In SQL Server while database designing we can specify the keys and foreign key relations, how we can do that with SharePoint Lists.