none
Pivot table from many sheets

Question

• Hello and thanks for reading,

I have a workbook with 301 worksheets. One sheet per individual, each sheet is updated in rows A-18 to A-41 with software assigned to that employee. I need to create a pivot table or other report that contains the (unique) software and how many installations there are of each.

It's also important that it be able to be updated as I change the items in the worksheets.

Please excuse my lack of any technical knowledge in this regard, I am very new to excel and under a crucial deadline. I have searched multiple sites but do not have the VBA knowledge to adapt any code to my situation.

Thank you for any help that you can provide.

Monday, April 02, 2012 1:01 PM

Answers

• Hi Dave,

I am not sure whether the ranges you selected in each sheet are more than one column or not.

As a pivot table, the ranges should not be only one column.  

And the following code can help to dump all of the unique pieces of software into a new sheet. (Suppose the new sheet is “sheet 66”). There are 3 macros.

1. This sub will copy A18 to A41 of each sheet to sheet66. Including the blank cells and duplicate cells.

Sub merge_sheets()

Dim wb As Workbook

Dim st As Sheets

Dim sht_num As Integer

Dim sht_name As String

Dim cell_num As Integer

Dim cell_position As String

Set wb = ActiveWorkbook

For sht_num = 1 To 301

cell_num = (sht_num - 1) * 24 + 1

Worksheets("Sheet" & sht_num).Select

Range("B18:B41").Select

Application.CutCopyMode = False

Selection.copy

Sheets("Sheet66").Select

Range("A" & cell_num).Select

ActiveSheet.Paste

Next sht_num

End Sub

2.  Then choose the range of the content in sheet66. Run the following macro.

Sub DeleteBlankRows1()

'Deletes the entire row within the selection if the ENTIRE row contains no data.

'We use Long in case they have over 32,767 rows selected.

Dim i As Long    'We turn off calculation and screenupdating to speed up the macro.

With Application