none
Format Painter in Word 2010 does not hold all formatting for text, anything change?

Question

• I have been using the Format Painter tool since 2003. In the 2010 version in Word, I can duplicate what seems to be a bug. I have a line of text that a few words are blue and bolded. I wanted to copy that formating, so I click in the word (or select a portion of text -- works the same either way) and then paint over the text to be modified. The text I had selected was Calibri, bold and blue, my resulting text was Times, and blue...it lost the bolding and the font somehow. Has the tool changed in 2010?
    Friday, October 29, 2010 4:43 PM

All replies

• Hi,

When you paste the text in Word 2010, you can see the Paste Options:

screen1a.jpg

If you want to keep the original format, you can choose Keep Source formatting.

If you choose Keep Text Only, the format will be changed to the default format in Word.

If you are unable to see the Paste Options, it might be disabled. We can re-enable it. Here you can see how to disable and re-enable the Paste Options in Word 2010:

http://www.word-2010.com/disable-paste-options-in-word-2010/

Please Note: Since the web site is not hosted by Microsoft, the link may change without notice. Microsoft does not guarantee the accuracy of this information.

Best Regards,

Sally Tang

Tuesday, November 02, 2010 7:56 AM
  • It works properly here in Word 2010, applying both the font, the bolding and the font color.

-- Hope this helps.

Doug Robbins - Word MVP,
    dkr[atsymbol]mvps[dot]org
    Posted via the Community Bridge

"Judi Geistlinger" wrote in message news:8ac8c7b1-6586-4248-b686-f8cb58dd55ba@communitybridge.codeplex.com...