none
Calendar management : recurrent leave

Question

• Hi !

I'm new to Project 2010.

I need to create a calendar for a ressources (site project leaders), who are working 8 weeks in a row then are 2 weeks off. They also need to have an overlap of 1 week.

I need to have it managed by Project, to forecast ressources leaves, in order to always have one project leader on site.

I've already searched the FAQ. Has anybody any idea?

Thanks,

Wednesday, January 30, 2013 6:33 PM

Answers

• Mykegyver,

Welcome to the wonderful world of Project.

Yes, you can do what you need but it will take a little bit of time to set up the necessary calendars. Let's say you have two project leaders, Bob and Bill). First add those to your Resource Sheet. You don't say whether you are working a normal 5 day week or a 6 or 7 day week. If your schedule is for other than a normal 5 day workweek, you should customize the project calendar to make the normal non-working days as working days. I'll assume you've done that or at least know how to do it.

With regard to setting up your resources.

1. On the Resource Sheet, select the first project leader and from the Resource tab on the ribbon hit the Information icon in the properties group

2. In the Resource information window hit the Change Working TIme button

3. In the exceptions list enter something to identify the first week off for that leader (e.g. first week off)

4. In the Start and Finish fields enter the dates to span the first week off for that leader

5. Hit the Details tab

6. Set the recurrence pattern to "weekly" and check as many days of the week as that leader will have off

7. Since he works 8 weeks and has the 9th (and 10th) week off, set the recurrence pattern for every 10 weeks

8. Set the range of recurrence to span however long the on-off cycle lasts (e.g. the length of the project)

9. Hit "OK"

10. Repeat steps 3 through 9 for the second off week