none
Resource allocation question

Question

• Dear Forum, 

I am new to MS Project 2010. I am trying to understand how MS project can help me with resource allocation and planning over multiple projects.

I have essentially three questions:

1. I am planning a project which has a number of deliverable dates. Now I want to plan certain time phases for certain project tasks. I want those time phases to stay fixed and then assign a number of potential coworkers/resources to these tasks, as well as a percentage of distribution of total work over these people. How do I do that?

1. I would like to distribute the work over several people and be able to specify the percentual distribution of work for a given task (75% project officer, 20% project leader, 5% CEO for control and supervision). Is this possible in MS Project? (MS Project seems to require an awful lot of micromanaging of hours, etc.)

1. Then I want these estimates to be displayed for each individual over time AND over multiple projects and have a calendar for each person with his or her tasks and the estimated required work. How do I do that?

Thanks a lot for your help!

Lukas

Thursday, March 01, 2012 5:38 PM

Answers

• Lukas,

1. In your first question, you are using Project in an unconventional way, but it is possible - sort of.  You can assign tasks fixed dates (or phases) using constraints.  You should not try to tell Project to maintain both the start and end dates, even though using a fixed duration task and a constraint would do what you want.  One of the purposes of MS Project is to have the software calculate either a start or a finish based upon a duration.  You could use a "Must Start On" constraint to fix a start date for a task in which Project will never move off of it.