none
Upgrading to Microsoft project 2010 from 2000

Question

• My question is simple yet I cant seem to figure out the answer. I have Microsoft Project 2000 (single license) and I want to upgrade to Microsoft Project 2010 (single license), but I don't know which version I need to get. Is there a special upgrade package I can buy or do I need to get the full application? I am a contractor and need it for my purposes only (no need to link to an EPM version). Microsoft's site is not very helpful in this way. A URL to the site to buy it would be awesome if possible.  Thanks!
    Friday, November 05, 2010 6:05 PM

Answers

• Not at all.  It depends on the setup you are using.  If all that is installed now is Project 98 (Standard), and Project 2000 (Standard), there is no need to purchase Project Server of any kind to duplicate the installed functionality.  However, you may need operating system upgrades to run Project 2010.  Check what operating system you have (For example Windows 2000, or Windows XP, etc) and compare that to the minimums required for Project 2010  (www.microsoft.com/project).

If the team is already using something like Project Server, or Project Central, then you might need to upgrade everyone to Project 2010 (including upgrade of Project Server to Project Server 2010)... but only if you are running a similar legacy product.

Project 2010 will save back to Project 2000-2003 format, it will not read/save Project 98 files without an interim step.  If you want the best  compatibility, all users should be on the same version of Project.  If you do install Server, then it is mandatory that all versions match... that is Project 2007 does not play nice with Project Server 2010, etc.  Similarly, Project 2010 is not going to play nice with any version of Project Server other than Project Server 2010.

If you feel this post answered the question, please vote for it. I am also available here:
    msprojectblog.com
    Friday, November 05, 2010 8:52 PM