none
Sharepoint 2010 - workflow sending static email but not dynamic

Întrebare

• I am trying to send an email from a workflow in Sharepoint 2010.  If I use a static email address, everything works fine but if I specify "CurrentItem:CreatedBy" in the workflow nothing happens.

I'm new to Sharepoint and I've been researching this for several days.  Any help would be appreciated.

13 iunie 2012 16:20

Toate mesajele

• When you specify the Workflow Lookup as

Data Source: Current Item

Field from source: Created By

There should be a third drop down list that is "Return field as:". Do you have this as the default "as string" or do you have it as "Email Address"?

13 iunie 2012 16:40
  • Please don't self propose answers, leave the community or the OP to do that for you.

Returning the Created By field as an email address shouldn't matter, it's never made a difference for me.

Have you checked that your workflow is triggering properly?

Steven Andrews | SharePoint Professional | http://www.twitter.com/backpackerd00d | https://baron72.wordpress.com/

13 iunie 2012 16:50
    Membru care oferă răspunsuri
  • Thanks for the advice Steven. I'm new to this so you'll have to forgive my poor etiquette.

Jerry, there is also an option in the select users box that is "User who created current item". Have you tried using that?

13 iunie 2012 16:56
  • Brandon, I tried it both ways and neither way worked.

Steven, I'm not sure what you mean by "triggering properly".  I know the the workflow is finishing execution if I use a static email address and it does send the email for a static address.

Is there way to debug this?  Or is there a log file somewhere?

• Editat de Jerry444 13 iunie 2012 17:27
    13 iunie 2012 17:26
  • When you use a static email address, what do you use? Does it work if use domain/username (username@domain)? You could try checking the ULS logs, just guessing on that though.
    13 iunie 2012 18:42