12 martie 2007 16:59
In Exchange 2007, If we configure a MRM policy to create a custom folder and configure that folder's settings to move all items older than 30 days into the "Deleted" folder, can a person move them back to the MRM custom folder and get another 30 days? Does the timestamp reflect the first time the item was moved into the custom folder, or is it reset every time the item is placed into that folder?
I've been told that this is 2003's mailbox manager's behavior...it resets the timestamp if an item is placed back into the monitored folder, although I haven't tested this to be certain.
Thanks in advance for any assistance.
14 martie 2007 20:13
The managed content settings dropdown in the Exchange Management Console has two settings for when the retention period starts:
1. When delivered, end date for calendar and recurring tasks
2. When item is moved to the folder
If the deleted item is moved back to a managed folder with setting 1, it is deleted again on the next pass of the managed folder assistant.
(Note that calendar and task items expire according to their end dates, not a delivery date, and that recurring items do not expire.)
If the deleted item is moved back to a managed folder with setting 2, it would in fact have another 30 days before the assistant moved it to the deleted items folder again.
15 martie 2007 01:17Thanks very much!