none
Powershell Add DNS Domain Suffix Search Order

Question

• I am racking my brain here.

Using Powershell script to add DNS domain suffixes to machines remotely.

Multiple Machines, Multiple Domains.

I am a Domain Admin on our main Domain but not on the others.

How do I supply credentials to run this script for the different domains? 

I know you can create PS Credential objects.
    The issue is that in order to change the Suffixes you have to use the type accelerator [wmiclass] rather than get-wmiobject and the TA only takes a string as an argument. 

$objWMI = get-wmiobject -class win32_networkadapterconfiguration -computername $strComputerName -credentials...
    #Unfortunately, this object nor the members it contains have the setDNSDomainSuffixSearchOrder Method

$clsWMI = [wmiclass]"\\$strComputerName\root\cimv2:win32_networkadapterconfiguration"
    #Unfortunately, this does not allow us to supply credentials. I can use this if it is in my domain.

Is there a way to do this aside from editing the registry directly, etc.? 

The goal here is to be able to change this from any machine on any of the domains.

My thoughts are that maybe there is a way to get to the same class object as the TA is but with being able to supply credentials, perhaps via a .NET? 

Any Help is much appreciated 
    • Edited by Mercbot7 Thursday, July 30, 2009 1:09 PM
    Thursday, July 30, 2009 1:07 PM

Answers

• Yes this is what I was looking for!

This worked for me.

$strComputerName = "foo"
    $psCredentials = Get-Credentials
    $aryDNSSuffixes = "Hello.com", "World.org"

invoke-wmimethod -Class win32_networkadapterconfiguration -Name setDNSSuffixSearchOrder -Credential $psCredentials -ComputerName $strComputerName -ArgumentList @($aryDNSSuffixes), $null

The weirdest thing about it is the ArgumentList, it takes an array object and you have to have the second item $null

I didn't read into msdn too deep

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd315300.aspx