none
Powershell

Question

• I am new to Powershell and need some advice on the best way to check three different folders for files ending in .txt if there are .txt files found then the script will need to create a new sub-folder and move the files into that folder.  For example, C:\Test1 has a .txt file, so create C:\test1\error and move the .TXT file into that error folder.  Then move onto the second folder C:\Test2, this one has 3 .txt files, create a new folder C:\test2\errors and move the 3 files into that folder then move onto C:\Test3, this one has no .txt files do do nothing.

Thanks

Tuesday, November 13, 2012 4:09 PM

Answers

All replies

• How "new" are you to Powershell?

[string](0..33|%{[char][int](46+("686552495351636652556262185355647068516270555358646562655775 0645570").substring(($_*2),2))})-replace " "

Tuesday, November 13, 2012 4:20 PM
  • Flowchart it first, that's my advice.

Grant Ward, a.k.a. Bigteddy

Tuesday, November 13, 2012 4:23 PM
  • Very new!  I did write a script already that will check a folder and get the count of .txt files and if the count is > 0 then it sends an email and then creates the new sub-folder and moves each file into it.  It works great but I need it to check multiple folders and do the same process on each, that is where I am unsure of the best process.  Obviously I can just repeat my code for each folder but I'm quite sure there is a simpler way to do it.  Not being familiar with Powershell I am stumbling.

Thanks

Tuesday, November 13, 2012 4:24 PM
  • You need to take your existing script, and use a list of folder names to drive that script once for each folder in the list using one of the Powershell loop constructs.

http://www.powershellpro.com/powershell-tutorial-introduction/logic-using-loops/

[string](0..33|%{[char][int](46+("686552495351636652556262185355647068516270555358646562655775 0645570").substring(($_*2),2))})-replace " "

• Marked as answer by CINB Tuesday, November 13, 2012 7:49 PM