none
Script to find all computers with password BIOS enabled

Question

• Hi Everybody,

I'm a beginner with scripting and I'm trying to create a script that gives me the following information from all my computers in our network.

I'd like to search all computers that have the BIOS password set up in the system. I know there's a script that search other configurations but I didn't find anywhere that find out the password enabled.

We need to know it just to keep our computers in safe without installing any third application here. All our computers has Windows XP installed.

Cheers,

MCP - MCDST

Friday, June 29, 2012 11:36 AM

Answers

• Hey Veiga

I think you should download "HP Client Management Interface" - they have a reference guide for what you can do. :)

http://h20331.www2.hp.com/hpsub/cache/284014-0-0-225-121.html
    ftp://ftp.hp.com/pub/softpaq/sp29501-30000/sp29792.exe

THey have some examples you can look at, it's kinda neat, but not without problems, i haven't studied if it is possible to look at bios password set/not set.

It works like Kristof says :)

Kind Regards
    Morten Leth

Tuesday, July 03, 2012 11:21 AM

All replies

• Check BIOSCharacteristics (bits 40-63) here:http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/aa394077(v=vs.85).aspx then call the vendor.

Some vendors have utilities to read the BIOs data.  It is not part of Windows.

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Friday, June 29, 2012 12:12 PM
  • I've talked to HP team and the guys told me there's no application or software that makes it.

MCP - MCDST

Friday, June 29, 2012 1:42 PM
  • I've talked to HP team and the guys told me there's no application or software that makes it.

MCP - MCDST