none
Using Powershell to manually update BitLocker keys to AD

Question

• Ok, please be kind, I'm a noob to PowerShell.  We have 50 or so BitLocker recovery keys that did not get backed up into AD and I have been tasked with writing a PowerShell script to automate the process of updating the keys on the machines that did not get added.

Here is what I have:

$result = manage-bde -protectors -get c: -type recoverypassword
    $id = $result -match "ID" | Out-String
    $id = $id.Substring(10)
    $revid = $id -replace "`t|`n|`r",""
    $finalid = "'" + $revid + "'"
    manage-bde -protectors -adbackup c: -id $finalid

Unfortunately, the result is "invalid class string".  Every line functions correctly except the final line.

a few things have become clear as I banged my head against the wall trying to get this to work:

1.  For PowerShell to accept the argument for the -id parameter in the final statement it must be enclosed in single quotes.

2.  When i run the manage-bde commands manually in PowerShell and copy and paste the password into the final command (and add single quotes) it works without a problem.

I am not sure if I am even going about this the right way or not, or if this is even possible.  I did see the .vbs script to do this but, like I said earlier, I was tasked with doing this in PowerShell and would like to do it hat way if possible.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Monday, February 27, 2012 10:35 PM

Answers

• I understand the answer, I don't understand the Syntax.  I'm not piggy backing if I'm just asking for a clarification to the resolution on this thread.

AbqBill stated the answer was

manage-bde -protectors -adbackup c: -id "{xxxx-xxxxxxxxx-xxxx-xxxxxx-xxxx}"