none
How to create a folder, permission with the user id based on a CSV input file

Question

• I am looking for help to point me in the right direction. As a complete newbie I'm a little overwhelmed by the content on this site and I'm not sure where to start.

Problem:
    1. I have a CSV file with a list of User IDs (i.e. jsmith3, mtodd99, etc)
    2. Based on this file, I would like a script to read this and create a user folder and a home sub-folder i.e. \\server\home$\jsmith3\home, \\server\home$\mtod99\home, etc
    3. Finally the script needs to permission the user folder with it's ID and RW rights i.e. jsmith3 is assigned to the ACL of \jsmith3 and it's given RW

Now this is probably quite an indepth task so i'm not asking anyone to write it. What I need is some guidance on where to look to get started. I think I'm probably best to start with reading a text file and creating the folders before trying to tackle the permissioning.

Thank you for you assistance.

Monday, November 22, 2010 4:38 PM

Answers

All replies

• It depends on the structure of your CSV file (or is it perhaps a straight text file?). If it is a text file then the task is trivial:

@echo off
    for /F %%a in ('type d:\Users.txt') do (
       md "\\Server\home$\jsmith3\home"
       cacls "\\Server\home$\jsmith3"  /e  /t  /g  %%a:F
       pause
    )

Remove the "pause" line after testing the batch file on one or two user names.

Monday, November 22, 2010 4:50 PM
  • a plain text file is probably simplest for this initial first step

I think I see what you're doing, but how do I replace 'jsmith3' with a variable, where the value for the variable is what is read in from the txt file?

Monday, November 22, 2010 6:06 PM
  • Sorry, made a mistake there. The code should, of course, read

@echo off
    for /F %%a in ('type d:\Users.txt') do (
       md "\\Server\home$\%%a\home"
       cacls "\\Server\home$\%%a"  /e  /t  /g  %%a:F
       pause
    )

Monday, November 22, 2010 6:39 PM