none
Modify a shortcut "Target" field to accept parameters

Question

• Hi,

I am very new to powershell and am trying to modify a shortcut. In my research I have found that this is not possible but recreating the shortcut is a workaround. however I am having dificulty doing this.

I need the target field to read something like this:
    "c:\MyPath\Variable" -s

note the inverted commas. and Variable is an actual variable set prior to running the code. This is my code so far. I am using powershell with -s simply as an example.

$File = read-host -prompt "Please input filename here..."
    $strDesktopFolder = [System.Environment]::GetFolderPath("Desktop")
    $objShell = New-Object -com "Wscript.Shell"
    $objShortcut = $objShell.CreateShortcut($strDesktopFolder + "\PowerShell.lnk")
    $objShortcut.TargetPath = '"c:\Windows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\'+$File+'"'+" -s"
    $objShortcut.Save()

The output of the Target is as follows:
    "C:\"c:\Windows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\powershell.exe" -s"

The problem is the initial "C:\ and also at the end the final "

Please could someone assist with this.
    Friday, September 11, 2009 12:46 PM

Answers

• Hi HiTeeGuy,

IIRC, the WshShortcut object's CreateShortcut method is poorly named, as it can also open a shortcut (.lnk file) for modification.

Also, I don't think you want to "hard-code" path names such as "c:\Windows" in a script. It is much better to use the appropriate variables (e.g. $env:SystemRoot or $PSHOME).

Another thing to remember with the WshShortcut object: Use the Arguments property for command-line parameters. TargetPath is only for the program name. Here's a fixed version of what you're trying to do:

$file = read-host -prompt "Enter filename"
    $desktopPath = [System.Environment]::GetFolderPath("Desktop")
    $wshShell = new-object -com "Wscript.Shell"
    $lnkFile = $wshShell.CreateShortcut((join-path $desktopPath "Test.lnk"))
    $lnkFile.TargetPath = (join-path $PSHOME $file)