none
PowerShell scripts How to Install missing drivers from individual setups and avoiding multiple reboots

Question

• I am very new to powershell scripts but would like to use it to complete the installation of different hardware drivers on windows xp sp3 machines post imaging. My problem is I don't know the following

How do I execute the individual setups/msi files on the imaged machine to install the different hardward devices that are missing?
    How do I stop the machine from rebooting until i am happy its necessary?
    How do i control the execution flow to stop different installers & windows hardware setup itself from disrupting the process?

Tuesday, March 16, 2010 10:43 AM

Answers

• First I would recommend providing as much drivers as possible within your base image. Install afterwards per client can take a lot of time.
    Second you should verify what kind of isntallers you have. The windows "standard" is MSI. You can install MSI packages with MSIexec.exe using the commandline. Parameters will be used to supress reboots and GUI messages (called silent install) and to remove any needed user-interaction (unattended install). For non MSI installers, you should check the documentation of these packages to obtain info on how to install silent AND unattended. This sourceforge link has proven very valuable to me to get this info.

In a powershellscript you can then call these programs with the invoke cmdlet or by just placing them one after the other. But in both cases all commands will be executed without waiting.
    You can avoid this in many ways, but I would in fact recommend not to use powershellscripts, but batch files or vbs scripts for this :)
    in batch you use start /wait *command*

MCSA/MCTS/MCP
    Tuesday, March 16, 2010 11:41 AM
  • Actually what operating system are you dealing with?

If it's Windows Vista or something newer I think you CAN run the DRVINST command.

DRVINST C:\DRIVERFOLDER\DRIVERNAME.INF