none
A complete noob strying to learn. Need to come up with a script for work.

Question

• I need to come up with a script that checks to see if three particular services are running on a server and emails an external address if they've stopped. It doesn't need to be real time just to check on a scheduled task. Any help would be apprecieted.
    Thursday, April 19, 2012 8:01 AM

Answers

All replies

• Hello Matt,

The scripting gallery is a great place to start, you can find it here:

Technet Gallery 

Here is a search query for scripts that can send email:

http://gallery.technet.microsoft.com/site/search?query=send%20email&f%5B0%5D.Value=send%20email&f%5B0%5D.Type=SearchText&ac=8 

Thursday, April 19, 2012 8:27 AM
  • Here is a very, very simple batch file solution:

@echo off
    net start | find /i "Service 1" || goto :Fail
    net start | find /i "Service 2" || goto :Fail
    net start | find /i "Service 3" && goto :eof

:Fail
    c:\Tools\blat.exe /.. /..

Blat.exe is a command line mailer that you can download from a number of sites. You need to experiment with it in order to set a number of switches for sender, recipient, message, attachment, SMTP server etc.

Thursday, April 19, 2012 8:29 AM
  • I need to come up with a script that checks to see if three particular services are running on a server and emails an external address if they've stopped. It doesn't need to be real time just to check on a scheduled task. Any help would be apprecieted.

Each serveice has a set of events that you can define.  They can restart teh service or send a message.  Tisis how we get messages sent of pages sent when a service quits.  Just define the action for the service and it will notify you immediately on failures.

These can be set by Group Policy.

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Thursday, April 19, 2012 9:29 AM