none
Run a program against multiple computers

General discussion

• Hello,

I'm new to scripting, what I am trying to create is a simple script that will execute a file on the C: drive of remote computers.  The script will do the following:

Ping all computers in an IP range to make sure the computer is on the network.
    Select and connect to each computer.
    Execute a batch file on the remote computer's C: drive.

I found the following template which is exactly what I'm looking for.  My question is at the line "Insert your code here" do I simply insert a command that run the executable for eample.

errReturn = objWMIService.Create ("C:\200XP.bat", Null, Null, intProcessID)  I do not fully understand what all of the lines do.  I'm just making sure the script will do what it should do first, so I could run it on a test environment of few computer in a specified IP range. Your response is much appricated.

Start of the script>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
    On Error Resume Next

intStartingAddress = 1
    intEndingAddress = 100
    strSubnet = "192.168.1."  (replace IP range with actual IP range)

For i = intStartingAddress to intEndingAddress
        strComputer = strSubnet & i

Set objShell = CreateObject("WScript.Shell")
        strCommand = "%comspec% /c ping -n 3 -w 1000 " & strComputer & ""
        Set objExecObject = objShell.Exec(strCommand)

Do While Not objExecObject.StdOut.AtEndOfStream
            strText = objExecObject.StdOut.ReadAll()
            If Instr(strText, "Reply") > 0 Then

' =====================================================================
                ' Insert your code here

Set objWMIService = GetObject _
                    ("winmgmts:\\" & strComputer & "\root\cimv2")
                Set colItems = objWMIService.ExecQuery _
                    ("Select * From Win32_OperatingSystem")
                For Each objItem in ColItems