none
VBScript to take ownership of subfolders/files

Question

• Hi guys,

I'm looking for a VBScript to change the ownership of subfolders/files of user home directories. I can do it manually but I have over 3000 users in the network and that would cost me a huge amount of time. So there for i need to create a script that does this for me.

I will be honest, I 'm a total noob in scripting.

kind regards,

Richard

Wednesday, March 20, 2013 4:01 PM

Answers

• Hi guys,

I'm looking for a VBScript to change the ownership of subfolders/files of user home directories. I can do it manually but I have over 3000 users in the network and that would cost me a huge amount of time. So there for i need to create a script that does this for me.

kind regards,

Richard

Group Policy can add teh Administrator group to all user home folders asuming you have set up the AD and users correctly for GP and AD.  If you are using NT4 methods then you will need to take extra steps.

You can use WMI to take ownership of files and folders on remote systems:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/aa393903(v=vs.85).aspx

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Wednesday, March 20, 2013 4:23 PM
  • This is actually very easy to do in PowerShell,

$userfolder='e:\\folder\\user'
    $folder=gwmi win32_directory -filter "name='$userfolder'" -computer pc001
    $folder.TakeOwnerShipEx($null,$true)

This will takeownership of all files and folders from the root down.

The path has to be a physical path on the machine where the users home directory is located.  If this is available in AD then it is pretty easy to script.

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Wednesday, March 20, 2013 4:35 PM
  • This depends on what scripting language you want to use. If you want to use a shell script (batch file), you can use the for /f command to read the lines of text from a file and run a command (or call a subroutine) for each line. Run for /? at a cmd.exe prompt for more information.