none
Powershell Passing Credentials doesn't work for anyting except local admininstrator

Pergunta

• function Start-Localeventviewer {
    	$cred = Get-Credential
    	$StartInfo = New-Object System.Diagnostics.ProcessStartInfo
    	$StartInfo.UserName = $cred.Username
    	$StartInfo.Password = $cred.Password
    	$StartInfo.Filename = "$env:windir\system32\mmc.exe"
    	$StartInfo.Arguments = "$env:windir\system32\eventvwr.msc"
    	$StartInfo.LoadUserProfile = $true
    	$StartInfo.UseShellExecute = $false
    	[System.Diagnostics.Process]::Start($StartInfo)
    }

Start-Localeventviewer

With the above code... on my machine... if I enter:

Administrator - it works

MachineName\Administrator - it works

MyDomain\MyName - it doesn't work (I'm a domain admin)

MyDomain\AnotherDomainUser - it doesn't work (Password entered by that person, is in a locl machine admin group)

MachineName\LocalAccount - it doesn't work (non admin)

MachineName\LocalAccount - it doesn't work (in local administrators group)

Can anyone explain why only the Built-In Administrator account works?

And... how to get other credentials working. 

Thanks!

quarta-feira, 15 de fevereiro de 2012 23:54

Respostas

• 1. I don't want to run the process as myself NOR as the built-in administrator... which is why I was experimenting with alternate credentials.

2. The console is ALREADY elevated from launching the powershell console "as administrator" and running the script

3. Without the verb attempt... the only credential that works is the built-in administrator. Period.  I don't know how else to describe the issue.

Pretty much... the process needs to run as a different domain account that has administrative rights.

I hope the helps describe what I'm trying to do, so I don't get any more unhelpful remarks like: "So elevate.  The message is pretty darn clear."