none
XML WHERE clause on element attribute

Soru

• Hi everyone,

I would appreciate your help as I am new to PS.

What I am doing is performing a recursive iteration on a folder files and I would like to to get the corresponding <Columns> tags for which the file name is equal to the "Name" attribute in the <File> tag.

The XML file has the following structure:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
    <Files>
    <File Name = "C:\Export\File1.txt">
    <Columns>
    <Column name="Description" type="Text">
    <Values>
    <Value>This is a test file</Value>
    </Values>
    </Column>
    <Column name="Author" type="Text">
    <Values>
    <Value>Test User</Value>
    </Values>
    </Column>
    <Column name="Company" type="Text">
    <Values>
    <Value>Test Company</Value>
    </Values>
    </Column>
    <Column name="Date Created" type="DateTime">
    <Values>
    <Value>1/1/2011</Value>
    </Values>
    </Column>
    <Column name="Date Modified" type="DateTime">
    <Values>
    <Value>1/1/2011</Value>
    </Values>
    </Column>
    <Column name="Date Scanned" type="DateTime">
    <Values>
    <Value>1/1/2011</Value>
    </Values>
    </Column>
    </Columns>
    </File>
    </Files>

So far my code looks like this:

Param (
               [parameter(Mandatory=$true)][string]$LocalPath, 
               [parameter(Mandatory=$false)][string]$XMLFilePath
               )

$files = Get-ChildItem $LocalPath -Recurse
    		$metadataXML = [xml] (Get-Content ($XMLFilePath))

$files | ForEach-Object {

$metadataXML.Files.File.Name | where { $metadataXML.Files.File.Name -eq $currentfileName }  
    ......some other actions

}

However $metadataXML.Files.File.Name | where { $metadataXML.Files.File.Name -eq $currentfileName } does not perform what I need.

Could you please advise me.

Thanks in advance

23 Ocak 2012 Pazartesi 12:32

Yanıtlar

• You are still not being clear, because your code doesn't make sense: