none
"Trying to use an SPWeb object that has been closed or disposed and is no longer valid."

Question

•  We are running SP2010. I am not a developer and have not touched any code, please would someone tell me how to fix this. I am unable to create status lists and project tasks. I have tried to delete the affected web parts and also the site that seems to have been affected the most.
    • Moved by Mike Walsh FIN Thursday, March 17, 2011 10:44 AM Off-topic SP 2010 post in pre-SP 2010 forum (From:SharePoint - Development and Programming (pre-SharePoint 2010))
    Thursday, March 17, 2011 10:24 AM

Answers

• You may never close the objects SPContext.Current.Web or SPContext.Current.Site because these are the instances your sharepoint is running on.

On the other hand, if you create your own instances of SPWeb or SPSite, you must dispose of them.

There is a tool developed by microsoft (SPDisposeCheck) that checks your disposing habits and gives you a nice report of possible issues: http://archive.msdn.microsoft.com/SPDisposeCheck

Regards,

Jeroen

My blog on WSS / MOSS development is found at http://jebass.blogspot.com
    • Proposed as answer by Nik Patel Friday, March 18, 2011 2:59 PM
    • Marked as answer by Rock Wang– MSFT Friday, March 25, 2011 7:51 AM
    Friday, March 18, 2011 2:56 PM

All replies

• Have you managed to remove any custom web parts by appending ?contents=1 to the url

i.e http://localhost/sites/pages/default.aspx?contents=1

This should help you clear up any problematic web parts

Tech bit: This quite often occurs is someone has disposed of a SPWeb object taken from SPContext.Current.Web in their code.

If you found this post helpful, please mark it so. Thanks!

Lightning Tools – where I work
    BCS Tester Man – My Codeplex personal project

• Proposed as answer by Bala Chowdary Friday, May 02, 2014 5:42 AM
    Thursday, March 17, 2011 10:55 AM
  • Hi,

Are you trying to do it as 

using (SPWeb spweb = SPContext.Current.Web)
        {

}