none
Error 403 on SharePoint 2010 when using SmartCard Authentication?

Question

• Admittedly, I am very new to the world of SharePoint 2010 so I was wondering if I could get some insight into a problem that recently popped up.

Our set up is like this: We are running Sharepoint 2010 (x64bit), on Server 2008 R2 (x64bit) and CAC certificate authentication is being handled by ISA 2006(32 Bit) since SharePoint 2010 doesn’t support it natively.

I have to Figure out (what seems to be) a Smart Card Authentication problem. Apparently it was working as late as May of this year…

Essentially, users with local Active Directory (AD) Accounts SHOULD be able to authenticate with their Smart Card into the SharePoint page using the secure (https) URL when away from the office, specifically at a satellite office away from our Headquarters building. Right now, the site is only working internally (while connected in our HQ). When a user tries to access the site they are prompted for their SMART CARD credentials, when they enter the PIN they are taken to an ERROR 403 PAGE “the Website declined to show this webpage” ‘This error (HTTP 403 Forbidden) means that Internet Explorer was able to connect to the website, but it does not have permission to view the webpage.’

I went to look at the IIS server (7.5) to see how the Authentication was being handled When I started looking at this, “Windows Authentication” was set to just NTLM. It is currently set to Negotiate then NTLM. If we add “Negotiate: Kerberos”, the site asks for a userid/password for internal users. The previous SA dabbled (after the break) with Extended protection and the “Enable Kernel-mode authentication” check box. One of his notes says this should be OFF. However, when he added “Negotiate”, Kernel-mode authentication has to be checked or SharePoint will prompt for a password for internal users.

A FEW NOTES:

- SharePoint Server: