none
SharePoint 2010, SQL Databases and Active Directory

Question

• This is my first attempt at customizing SharePoint 2010 and I'm hitting a wall.  I've read as much material as I can google on how to create Visual Web Parts, Display and Edit forms, Workflows, etc. and I just can't seem to get where I need to be with any of them.

First I should give some background.  I'm developing a system for requesting purchase orders that follows a given workflow based on data located in a SQL database.  One of the key components of this system is a location entity that contains mainly address information, but also who the director and front office manager is at that location and a reference to a parent location.  I would like to store the director and manager's Active Directory Object ID in the database, but have them display as a link to the contact information of that user in sharepoint.  I would also like the parent location ID to appear as a link to the actual location item.  Many of the other entities in this system have similar requirements so I won't get into them here.

I have already defined a BDC model and Web Service to link SharePoint to the SQL database and have sucessfully pulled information from those tables using the Business Data List web part and Business Data Related List web part.  I have already written a web service that will pull AD properties over LDAP, in case I need to use it, but I'm hoping to find a better solution.