none
Moving Users within Sharepoint

Question

• Hi,

Does anyone know of an easy way to move users to new groups in sharepoint?

I work in a school and I have set up several sites within sharepoint which are based on curriculum subjects and years.  Because students belong to several different groups according to the subjects learnt and groups & years taught in, I have also had to set up many different groups for administration & security purposes.  These groups do not mirror our Active Directory structure in any way.

My problem is, these users will move groups at the end of every year and also sometimes during the year and I'd like to know if anyone has discovered an easier way of populating the groups without painstakingly deleting the users from their old group, then manually adding them to the appropriate new group.

Many thanks

Tuesday, July 01, 2008 3:30 PM

Answers

• HI Diane,

This is a problem that we faced in one of the companies I was a consultant with.

The easiest way to do this is through developing a custom solution that integrates with the SharePoint security model, but I am assuming that this is not an option.

At my last client, the SharePoint Security model did not reflect the AD groups and structure and that was OK as it did not require it, UNTIL, they want to move groups around and also Add\Remove\Move people from groups.

What I did was specify the structure that I wanted in AD. Remember the AD groups are only holding OU's and they dont not affect teh NTFS security when you only use them for SharePoint purposes.

So if you take the time an effort to create the Groups in AD, you can create certain Sharepoint Groups that are static and will not move. When you have to move users, you can get them moved thru AD, which can be done very easily. As long as the AD Groups is added to the SP group, you can add, remove, move, etc users in AD and the changes will be reflected in SharePoint.