none
My Site in home web design

Question

• Hi,

I am an individual and beginner SharePoint Designer 2010 user, I like this MS software, so I decided to use it for my hobby web design, but I can’t use the „My Site” and „My Site customization” features of it. (I have installed SharePoint Foundation 2010 and IIS). I would like to ask whether the „My Site” feature of the software can be used without install of SharePoint Server 2010 (I have read about it here, but SharePoint Server 2010 and server farms were always mentioned). I think, that SharePoint Server 2010 is not really for home web designers but only for companies. Is it right? And the „My Site” is suitable for individual web designers, too?

Do I need the „My Site” feature for my home web design? If yes, how can I use it with or without SharePoint Server 2010?

Thanks, Regards: David
    Thursday, December 15, 2011 4:57 PM

Answers

• For what you are trying to do, would  think the blank site template would be too basic.

I have not used the My Site tools on SharePoint Designer - so I am not familiar with what you are trying to do - is the link on the Ribbon toolbar or in the actual design view of the page - if its the latter then it would not work. I also think the MySite feature is over engineering the type of site you wish to create.

Simon Rennocks | SharePoint 2010 MCITP & MCPD | Microsoft Community Contributor 2011 | Blog | LinkedIn
    • Marked as answer by Seven M Friday, December 23, 2011 7:56 AM
    Friday, December 16, 2011 2:49 PM
  • Which template you use would depend on the functionality of your site, something you will need to design.
    Simon Rennocks | SharePoint 2010 MCITP & MCPD | Microsoft Community Contributor 2011 | Blog | LinkedIn
    Saturday, December 17, 2011 7:25 PM

All replies