none
Sharepoint 2007 Search not Working - No office sharepoint search service

Question

• Hello all.

I am new to Microsoft Sharepoint. I just started in our company and we have Microsoft Sharepoint 2007 installed in our environment. My manager gave me the responsibility to fix Search feature on Sharepoint.

Here is the setup:

Central Administration Server: It has Custom role selected. Which doesn't show Office Sharepoint Search service. So, I don't have search feature.

The database is on another SQL server.

I am creating one more server (only for search) and adding that to the sharepoint farm. It will be complete installation. And I will enable search indexing on that server to start search feature. Is this the correct way to do it? Or is there any more efficient way?

I have Windows Sharepoint Services Search on my current Sharepoint server but still search not working. Please guide me how I can accomplish this?

FYI- Little confused of the database server role: I have seperate database server configured but when I open the server role for that it is configured as web server for medium server farm. Does the database server is configured as web front end server? Sharepoint server is VMware Virtual Machine, but that doesn't make any difference I guess.

Tuesday, February 21, 2012 9:30 PM

Answers

•  

Items are crawled (indexing is working) the problem is with the query. If you create a new web application for tests and a  new site collection I am curios if you have the same problem.

Apply also this action plan:

Click Start, click Run, type regedit, and then click OK.

In Registry Editor, locate and then click the following registry key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Lsa\MSV1_0

Right-click MSV1_0, point to New, and then click Multi-String Value.

Type BackConnectionHostNames, and then press ENTER.

Right-click BackConnectionHostNames, and then click Modify.