none
The workflow could not create the list item

Question

• Hi there, I would be grateful for any help/pointers

I’m new to using workflows in SP2010

I am getting “The workflow could not create the list item. Make sure the list exists and the user has permissions to add items to the list.”

My scenario

I’m trying to create a new document in a library (List B) using a SPD 2010 workflow.  The originating list (List A) has a status dropdown, so when the user selects “done” – A document will be created using 2 or 3 fields from the original list.

My attempted solution

I am using a hosted SharePoint 2010 foundation test site. I created a basic team site

1.       Created my List A with the following fields with some dummy data

Name

Type

Sales Person

Single line of text

Total Purchased

Number

Quantity Purchased

Number

2.       Created a site content type with the same field names from the List A

3.       Created a document template based on this content type in which I inserted the necessary fields (using insert Quick Parts)

4.       This template was uploaded and saved to the site and renamed from dotx to docx

5.       Deleted the default content type for List B and replaced it with this new document

6.       Opened SP designer 2010 to create my workflow below

If CurrentItem:Status equals Done
     Create Item in ListB (Output to Variable:create)

The options selected within ListB are:

Field

Value

Content Type ID

Inv001

Path and Name(*)

http://hostedSP2010site/MSSPD/Comp%20Invoices/Forms/AllItems.aspx

Sales Person

Current Item: Sales Person

Quantity Purchased

Current Item: Quantity Purchased

Total Purchased

Current Item: Total Purchased

(I have a feeling the Path and Name field is incorrect but not sure what syntax I should be using??)

7.       Checked for errors (none), saved and published (Workflow is set to start automatically when an item is created or changed)