none
Document library filter by title

Question

• Hello,

I'm pretty new to SharePoint (using 2007) so maybe this a stupid question, but I really don't have a clue.

I created a collaboration site and I'm using the default document library.

I would like to add a filter on the documents title, but when I tried I get the error "this column type cannot be filtered".

I read that you could change the type declaration to make it filterable, but I search all over the place on site and collection setting and I couldn't find it.

Does anyone knows how I could had filter on default title column?

Thanks.

• Moved by Mike Walsh FIN Wednesday, June 30, 2010 12:00 PM admin q (From:SharePoint - Design and Customization (pre-SharePoint 2010))
    Wednesday, June 30, 2010 11:11 AM

Answers

• Hi,

For a text filter web part, you need to set the connections (web part > edit > connections) for it.

And during connections configuration, you can set the title as the filter column (I have tested it and it is working fine). But this web part just supports full match search function.

The title is system column, so there is no OOTB way to make it filterable.

I think you can create a new column named the title or item title or something similar name and copy the title to this new column. (Using calculated field type)

Hope it is helpful!

Seven
    • Marked as answer by Seven M Saturday, July 10, 2010 5:48 AM
    Friday, July 02, 2010 9:18 AM

All replies

• Hi,

For filtering just follow these steps.

Go to Modify this View -->Under Filter--->select 2nd radio button i.e., Show items only when following is true-->Select Title column(show the items when column)--->Then based on your requirement add condition there(like Title is equal to abc)---->Click on OK button.

And go to document library check for your filtering.

Thanks & Regards, Neerubee
    Wednesday, June 30, 2010 11:53 AM