none
Permissions: View folders but not access

Question

• Hello,

Using WSS, is it possible to set permissions in a document library such that another group of people can see all the names of the folders that are created in that library but are not able to access the content of the folders?  The default setup seems to be if you deny access to a folder within a library then that folder becomes invisible.

If this isn't possible is anyone able to suggest an alternative?

Thursday, January 03, 2008 4:26 PM

All replies

• I believe the only answer is to stop securityTrimming on your site. That will also make you navigation show pages the user can not see either. That will lead to "Access Denied" errors for users.

Friday, January 04, 2008 5:24 AM
  • How do I do that?  bearing in mind I'm not an IT expert.  I have search for security trimming in WSS help but it is not mentioned.

Friday, January 04, 2008 9:03 AM
  • As I understand it, if you want people to see the folders, then you need to give read access to the folders.  If you give read access, then people can click into them.

If you want to deny access to the contents of the folders, you need to remove access to the items themselves.

This would be very awkward.

What is the business requirement? That will help us suggest useful alternatives.

--Paul Galvin, Conchango
      RSS @ http://feeds.feedburner.com/PaulGalvinsSharepointSpace
      Web site @ http://paulgalvin.spaces.live.com

Friday, January 04, 2008 2:37 PM
  • Thanks Paul,