none
Adding SharePoint PowerShell snapins

Question

• Hello All, I am new to both working with PowerShell and Servers originally performing more frontend development. That said, I am now working with SharePoint Srever 2010 of which is installed on Server 2008 (non-R2 version).

I have PowerShell installed however every time I want to run Backup, Restore commands I am alwasy having to add: Add-PSSnapin Microsoft.SharePoint.PowerShell.

Is there a way to permanantly add this snap in so I don't have to add it every single time? is there a way to permanantly add any and all sanpins so I don't experience any unrecognizable cmdlets?

Don't want to make others angry but I amnot seing what all the praise is about in PowerShell at the moment.

• Moved by Mike Walsh FIN Thursday, March 25, 2010 4:10 AM 2010 questions go only to a suitable 2010 forum A suitable forum is not one with "pre-SharePoint 2010" in the Title of the forum. (From:SharePoint - General Question and Answers and Discussion (pre-SharePoint 2010))
    Wednesday, March 24, 2010 11:55 PM

Answers

• Mark - you can set up your profile to automatically load the sharepoint snap-in regardless of the tool you use (the ISE for example) - here's how:

• Loading the SharePoint snap-in via your profile script allows you to use any editor
    • Run the following to create a profile script if one doesn’t exist and edit it in the ISE:
    if (!(test-path $profile.AllUsersAllHosts)) {new-item -type file -path $profile.AllUsersAllHosts -force}

powershell_ise $profile.AllUsersAllHosts

• Add the following code to the script file and save your changes:
    $ver = $host | select version
    if ($ver.Version.Major -gt 1) {$host.Runspace.ThreadOptions = "ReuseThread"} 
    if ((Get-PSSnapin "Microsoft.SharePoint.PowerShell" -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue) -eq $null) {
        Add-PSSnapin "Microsoft.SharePoint.PowerShell"
    }

Gary Lapointe, Blog: http://stsadm.blogspot.com/, Twitter: http://twitter.com/glapointe