none
How to start administrating SharePoint 2007?

問題

• I'm an Applications programmer and DBA, and was informed last month I am now the new SharePoint administrator at my company. I've spent the last month reading about the application. I knew nothing about SharePoint just 2 months ago.
    The application was never managed. SharePoint was installed by an IT network administrator, and then turned over to business users (clerks). Of course all personnel who were involved in the setup or maintenance left some years ago. No notes, credentials or documentation have survived. A couple of months ago it came to light that SharePoint has been on auto pilot for years. So now I am a SharePoint administrator have been given full admin rights to the server that SharePoint is housed on.  I do not have SharePoint credentials to sign into the Central Administration Operations page, I'm not sure they ever existed. All the books I have read have the Central Administration Operations page as a starting point. Yes this is a real mess, but without the challenges it would not be fun. Although this is a difficult task, there are solutions. Right now, I need a guide to help me get started.
    1 - Can anyone help me access the Central Administration Operations page?
    2 - Do you have any basic starting tasks (like backups) that I should look at first?
    3 - What books are good operational books? I have the MS Office SharePoint Server 2007 book.

• 已編輯 Mike Walsh FIN 2012年2月14日 下午 10:37 Original title didn't say what was needed. For different questions three different posts would have been better.
    2012年2月14日 下午 08:12

所有回覆

•  Hi Ron,
    1. There is Operations top link bar in Central Administration by default and its URL is http:// your Central Administration Site:port/_admin/operations.aspx. Can you get in this URL? If no, what error message you get? If it is Access Denied error, this should be a permission issue.