none
Loop through excel files and load second sheet data only

Dotaz

• Hi gurus,

1. Basically I have some excel files in a folder. Each excel file has  5 tabs (sheets) in it.

2. So, I have to loop through all these files and load second (#2 )sheet data named as 'SECOND SHEET 'into SQL table.I dont care about the other sheets data and all these files has same structure and same sheet name like mentioned above.

3. Also, while looping through these sheets I want to skip first 3 rows.

I have looked online and read many articles but I cudn't find anything that match this criteria.

Note: I want to do this with SSIS and not with script component as I am not that good at it.

Please help me with this.!!

• Upravený Spartaa 9. dubna 2012 17:54
    9. dubna 2012 17:25

Odpovědi

• Step1: Have 2 string variables FullPath and SheetName with default value as SecondSheet

Step2: Have a for each loop container anc configure it to point to the appropriate folder using the Collection tab. In the Files section use *.xls and select the "Fully Qualified" option for Retrieve file name section. Use Variable Mappings tab to save the Fully qualified name into FullPath variable (using drop down box) by setting the index as 0.

Step3: Within for each loop take a data flow task. Inside data flow task take an excel source. Rt click the excel source->Edit. Click on new to create an excel connection manager. Create the excel connection manager by specifying one of correct excel file. Once you have created the excel connection manager, select the data access mode (in excel source editor) as "Table name or view name variable" and select the Sheetname variable from the dropdown box.

Step4: Select the excel connection manager created in Step3, hit F4 go to expressions, click on ellipsis, select connection string from drop down and set following expression:

"Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;Data Source="+ @[User::FullPath] +";Extended Properties=" +"\"Excel 8.0;HDR=YES\""+";"