none
SSIS and MSMQ

Question

• I am a novice in SQL Server 2008, so if this question seems fundamental, I apologize ahead of time.

I have a general understanding of how SSIS packages interact with MSMQ by sending/receiving

messages from packages.  The scenario I'm thinking of is, let's say you are sending messages to the queue

from many different packages that perform different tasks from different computers, and each package sends a message

to the queue.  You have multiple offices sending text files of data which will be used later by another package to load the

data into the database, and each time the package executes, it writes a message for each office file.  How does the "receiving"

package know which messages belong to it?  (I hope I'm asking this correctly)

Wednesday, February 20, 2013 2:24 AM

Answers

• Hi,

With MSMQ there are two types of queues Private and Public. As the name suggests the Private Queue keeps information on local system and can be accessed by path name which requires Computer name with Private$ and the queue name all separated by \. The Public Queue on the other hand is registered in the Active directory. These are available from other domains.

You can use a private queue where the computer name will be mentioned to identitify which message in the queue belong to which package based on the assumption that this recieving package runs on different computers.

Thanks,

Amit

• Marked as answer by Jimbo0725 Thursday, February 21, 2013 5:26 PM
    Wednesday, February 20, 2013 7:55 AM
  • There is two options which you need to configure correctly inorder to get this right.

String message and string message variable.

Also you can check this email.

http://blogs.msdn.com/b/martijnh/archive/2010/06/10/reading-msmq-from-within-ssis-packages.aspx

Please Mark posts as answers or helpful so that others can more easily find the answers they seek.

Wednesday, February 20, 2013 7:53 PM
  • Hi,