none
Moving Messages in Service Broker

Question

• Hi. Please excuse my complete newbie question, but I am just trying to get my head around the whole business of moving messages from one queue to another. I have inherited an application and the person responsible for developing it has now left the company.

I have about 40,000 messages in a single SB queue and -some- (about 80%) of those messages are taking about a minute each to be processed. I want to move these messages (which are not really that important, but must be processed eventually) into a second queue so that the remaining 20% of messages (that are much higher priority for the business) can be processed. It's only a one-time move.

What do I do? If this was SQL I would transactionally delete from one table and insert into another. Job done. I have generated the SQL required to get  a list of the 'conversation_handle's that need to be moved, I just need to understand how to pick up a message (or group of messages if this is possible) from one queue and drop it unchanged into another inside a single transaction.

Thanks in advance.

Friday, February 03, 2012 3:21 PM

All replies

• Hi JonRussell,

I would like to involve someone familiar with this issue to have a look, and give an update as soon as possible.

Stephanie Lv

TechNet Community Support

Monday, February 06, 2012 6:16 AM
  • How do you process the data in th queue?

Assuming you're using internal activation (calling a sproc on queue activation) you could modify this sproc to redirect the "less important" information to a separate queue and immediately process the "important ones". This new queue would then need to call a separate sproc that would perform the processing. It might help to set activation status = off for this new queue until all original messages are processed.

Those are the steps I'd use:

1) set activation status = off for the current queue

2) write a new sproc that would only process the "time consuming messages"