none
Failed Rows on Synchronization

Question

• I have a subscriber that wasn't synchronizing for a few days due to a timeout (and the agent never seemed to retry again it just said that a progress message hadn't been logged...and was errored out).  So I restarted the agent and the sync seemed to work but now its continously saying that its retrying several rows where most if not all fail.  My subscription is set to continuous sync and it just seems to be going through a continuous loop where it's retrying rows and almost all rows fail.  Usually when all changed get synced up it will say waiting 60 seconds before polling for changes...but i cant ever seem to get to that state.  Of course the subscriber is making data changes on their end so i may not get to that point but i am worried that i keep seeing all these failed rows being retried and they all fail.  Any ideas whats going on?
    Thursday, April 25, 2013 4:09 PM

Answers

All replies

• Can you check the conflicts to see if these are PK violations?

You may need to delete them from the subscriber to prevent this from happening.

looking for a book on SQL Server 2008 Administration? http://www.amazon.com/Microsoft-Server-2008-Management-Administration/dp/067233044X looking for a book on SQL Server 2008 Full-Text Search? http://www.amazon.com/Pro-Full-Text-Search-Server-2008/dp/1430215941

Thursday, April 25, 2013 7:00 PM
  • So yes there are a bunch of conflicts happening and i think i've figure out why.  We have TableA that has a foreign key referencing TableB on column B1.  On the subscriber they are creating a row in TableB and then a row in TableA in which a column in TableA, A1, references the value in TableB, B1.  So the subscriber looks like this:

Table A: A1                      TableB: B1

12345                            12345

But during replication its trying to insert the row in TableA first, before the row in TableB thus causing an error because of the foreign key: