none
executing query takes a lot of time

Question

• Hi, im new to BI and stuff but to the point
    i have database with million of records, so i i created a database with just 500k rows

i wrote a function that updates my column billed. when the date is pretty recent i put the column billed on 'N'
    when it's in the past for like 2 months or more a put it on 'Y'  

-------------------------Piece of code--------------------------------------

DECLARE @Date DATETIME;
    DECLARE @Month INT;
    DECLARE @Year INT;
    DECLARE @Counter INT;
    DECLARE @CurrentID INT;
    DECLARE @Totalrows INT;
    DECLARE @NextID INT;
    DECLARE @Day INT;

SET @Counter = 1
    SELECT @Totalrows = count(*) from test.dbo.t
    SELECT @CurrentID = test.dbo.t.[ EXTERNAL_ID ] from test.dbo.t where ID = @Counter

while(@Counter < @Totalrows)
    BEGIN
    SELECT @NextID = test.dbo.t.[ EXTERNAL_ID ] from test.dbo.t where ID = @Counter + 1
    SELECT @Month = month(test.dbo.t.[ TIMESTAMP ]) from test.dbo.t where ID = @Counter
    SELECT @Year = year(test.dbo.t.[ TIMESTAMP ]) from test.dbo.t where ID = @Counter
    IF(@CurrentID = @NextID)
    BEGIN
    IF(dbo.f_month(@CurrentID) = @Month AND dbo.f_year(@CurrentID) = @Year)
    BEGIN
    UPDATE test.dbo.t
    SET BILLED = 'N'
    WHERE @Month = dbo.f_month(@CurrentID) AND ID = @Counter
    END 
    ELSE
    BEGIN
    UPDATE test.dbo.t
    SET BILLED = 'Y'
    WHERE ID = @Counter
    END
    END
    ELSE
    BEGIN
    SET @CurrentID = @NextID
    END
    SET @Counter = @Counter + 1
    END
    ---seems that the tabs vanish here, so it's less readable
    --------------------end of the code ---------------------------

i'm testing it now, and it's quering for 40+ and still going , is there a way to lower this query time? i now check row per row but i don't have another way to do so, if someone has experience with this, i would be really happy if you could help me

kind regards
    matthias

Monday, March 12, 2012 3:46 PM

All replies