none
Replicate a database over the internet

Question

• Hello, im new to database replication and doing a little reading, i know you can replicate across severs etc etc. but im wondering how do you ( if possible) host a copy of the replicated database ( on th internet) so when ever you make a change on your sever it is reflected on the web sever's database

thanks

Sunday, February 12, 2012 6:38 PM

Answers

All replies

• This can be done by using a VPN or by using the Web Synchronization option for Merge Replication.

Have a look at Implementing Replication over the Internet.

Brandon Williams (blog | twitter)

Sunday, February 12, 2012 6:57 PM
  • hello, thanks for the link, reading

would also like to ask if you know a good step by step that will help me inplement this thanksa

Sunday, February 12, 2012 9:16 PM
  • I assume the server and web server are on different networks?

I prefer to use a VPN for this, as Web Synchronization is only designed for trivial workloads.

A good resource for Virtual Private Networks can be found here http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/network/bb545442.

Instructions on how to configure Web Sync for Merge can be found here http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms151255.aspx.

Sunday, February 12, 2012 9:32 PM
  • ok well yea the sever will just be a computer and the other database i want it to be hosted on whatever hosting company...

ill read on VPN

Sunday, February 12, 2012 10:47 PM
  • btw can i do any of this with SQL Express?
    Sunday, February 12, 2012 11:25 PM
  • Yes but keep in mind that the Express server can only serve as a Subscriber, not a Publisher or Distributor.  You will at least need 1 server as Standard edition or higher to act as the Publisher/Distributor.

Replication Considerations (SQL Server Express)

Sunday, February 12, 2012 11:39 PM
  • ok So what i need to do is, get SQL standard  and it will allow me to publish to an online database / sever?

Sunday, February 12, 2012 11:48 PM